The castle was originally a medieval fortress whose purpose was to make safe way for the German Emperors on their hunting expeditions.
During the 16th Century, it was rebuilt into a Renaissance-style fortress. Greatly damaged in the Thirty Years' War, it was again rebuilt in the late 17th Century. This time it was Count Ernst zu Stolberg-Wernigerode who added Baroque style to the remains and made it a romantic residence palace.
Perhaps the most important alterations in the castle's history were ordered by Count Otto zu Stolberg-Wernigerode. The castle became a model structure of northern German historicism. Since 1930, parts of the castle have been open to the general public. In two museum tours, 40 in part authentically furnished living rooms and bedrooms of the European higher nobility are waiting for visitors. And be prepared for visiting also the high-quality special exhibitions. These premises have seen several radical changes in the course of their history.
Around the end of the 15th Century, large extensions took place in the late Gothic style, from which two Curtain Arch windows in the courtyard still bear evidence. During the 16th Century, the castle was rebuilt into a Renaissance-style fortress. Traces of this, too, can still be seen today. Greatly damaged in the Thirty Years' War, it was again rebuilt in the late 17th Century. This time it was Count Ernst zu Stolberg-Wernigerode, who added Baroque style to the remains and made it a romantic residence palace in the shape of a round castle.
The meteoric rise of Count Otto zu Stolberg-Wernigerode in politics, which made him first High President of the Prussian province of Hannover in 1867, later German Ambassador in Vienna and finally Bismarck's deputy as Vice Chancellor of the German Reich and Acting Prussian Prime Minister, is the reason for the large historical alteration from 1862 until 1883.
This made the castle a model building of northern German historicism. The architect Carl Frühling created in this style an impressive castle complex of great effect from the outside and immense detail on the inside.
Since 1930, parts of the castle have been open to the general public. Please feel invited to experience the unique adventure of a visit to this castle.